​I want you to forget about me. 

I want you to forget the most selfish girl you’ve ever loved and find someone better.

I want you to forget all the small details you’ve spent your years admiring, the smile that once made your day, the glimmering eyes you used to spend hours looking at, the freckles you loved to kiss and the strands of hair you use to brush off my face.

I want you to forget the smell of my tee-shirts and the feeling I made you feel.

I want you to forget the bittersweet pain I’ve caused you, the songs I used to sing to you at night, and the dirty secrets we used to keep.

I want you to forget how my kisses gave you jitters all over, or how my words made you weak.

I want you to forget every memory we’ve made and the laughter we shared as if we never met, as if our paths were never crossed, or as if I never existed.

I want you to forget all of that.

Cos you know what?

No matter how much I want to be selfish again, I know that I’ve done it enough. I just can’t bare seeing you hurt again because it breaks me even more.

So please.
Promise me, you’d forget about me.

Please.

-theislandgirlinthecity

Leave a Reply

